How to merge partition mac os

When you partition a hard drive, you physically create separate sections on the drive ; each of these sections is called a partition. A partition defines a specific area of a hard drive. Data can be erased in multiple ways. The default method on the Mac deletes the data table entries for the location of the file but does not actually remove the file itself from the hard drive or volume. The practical effect of this is that your Mac no longer sees the file, and the space it uses is now marked as available free space. You can also specify optional erase options that will completely remove the data.

Deleting the Recovery Partition

Current drives and volumes will display in a list pane on the left side of the Disk Utility window. Volumes are listed below their associated physical drive. Select the drive associated with the volume you wish to expand. Select the volume listed immediately below the volume you wish to expand.

Disk Utility will display a confirmation sheet listing the volume you are about to remove.

The Basics of the Recovery Partition

Make sure that this is the correct volume before taking the next step. Select the volume you wish to expand. Grab the right-hand bottom corner of the volume and drag to expand it. Disk Utility will display a confirmation sheet listing the volume you are about to resize. Disk Utility will resize the selected partition without losing any of the data on the volume.


  • How can I merge the partitions on my Mac? | The Tech Guy;
  • como instalar age of empires 2 en mac.
  • Steps to Merge Partitions in Windows 7 with Disk Management Tool;
  • google play for mac download!
  • Partition Drives and Format Partitions;
  • nba general manager 2014 hack tool mac.
  • google photos backup mac app?

Volumes are listed below their associated hard drive. Select the existing volume that you wish to split into two volumes. Disk Utility will dynamically display the resulting Volume Scheme, and show how the volumes will be configured once you apply the changes.

Delete or Merge a partition

Disk Utility will display a confirmation sheet that lists how the volumes will be changed. Volumes are listed below their associated drive. Select the existing volume you wish to delete. Disk Utility is showing a disk as hidden and I am unable to mount it or select it. Why so? The partitions, which are hidden by Stellar Partition Manager, can only be revealed by the software itself. Hence, in order to mount the hidden partition back, you need to use the 'Reveal' option in Stellar Partition Manager.

Resize a partition/volume

With other applications or Disk Utility, you can be able to view the hidden partition, however, cannot select or mount it. Can I resize Windows partition on Mac hard disk drive?

Yes, you can now resize Boot Camp partition and Macintosh hard drive with the latest version of Stellar Partition Manager software i. We use cookies on this website. By using this site, you agree that we may store and access cookies on your device. Read More Got it! We'll walk you through this alternative method for installing macOS. Even with a backup installer, you want to make sure that you back up all of your data with something like Carbon Copy Cloner, in case something goes wrong. We are all adults here, and if you are okay working without a safety net you do not need to have the USB Drive per se, but you have been warned.

Regardless of what you do, a functional backup is very important when you start messing with partitions as things can and do go wrong. I hosed my old Air twice messing around with the Core Storage partition and ended up having to restore from my Time Machine backup. You can find out if your system drive was converted to Core Storage by entering the following command into Terminal:. If you see that the command lists your system drive with the type AppleCoreStorage , it is not recommended to go forward. Even the power of Terminal does not deal with these partitions very well, and you can easily end up having to restore your Mac from a backup.

There is a solution, but it is a relatively dirty hack. If you do not already have it installed, download it here. Click on the USB drive and select Erase. Once you format your disk correctly, open Carbon Copy Cloner. You should be prompted to create your first job, if you are not select New Task from the File menu.

Delete or Merge a partition | MacRumors Forums

You can select Done and kick off the copy. The wait may vary based on the size of your system, so you may want to make some coffee or tea while you wait.


  • excel mac 2008 pivot table?
  • mac pages spelling correction in other languages.
  • excel row to column mac;

When it is complete, shut down your Mac and boot up holding the Option key to select your boot disk. Select your USB drive to boot from, and you should boot into your same system. Then open the Disk Utility. Repeat the steps to erase your system disk with the single partition. Now your Mac no longer has the Recovery Partition. If your Mac still has an older style partition table, the easiest way to delete your recovery partition is to use Terminal These 6 Awesome Terminal Commands Will Boost Your MacBook These 6 Awesome Terminal Commands Will Boost Your MacBook You can only cram so much into graphical user interface before it becomes cluttered, so it should come as no big surprise that you can do some really cool things using the Mac Terminal.

How to resize disk partition in macOS

Read More , though your account needs to have admin rights for this to work. Find your Recovery partition using the command:. This command is the Terminal version of Disk Utility, and list gives you a list of all your disks and their partitions. You want to be careful here, as you do not want to delete the wrong partition unintentionally. Look for the partition, probably at the bottom of the list, Recovery HD. You will want to delete this and merge it into your main partition. To do so first delete the partition using the command:.